Home » Currently Reading:

Searching for Descendants of Southern New Jersey Suffragists

(Adapted from an article in the Historical Society’s November 2019 Bulletin newsletter)

By Lisa Hendrickson, Alice Paul Institute

In 2020, the Alice Paul Institute will host a suffrage celebration at Paulsdale in Mount Laurel, NJ honoring the efforts of so many New Jerseyans who fought for the 19th Amendment granting women the right to vote.

The Institute is working to compile a list of all the amazing women who worked for the suffrage cause. Can you help expand or enhance our lists for Camden, Burlington, and Gloucester counties, or help us connect with descendants of any of these women? Please contact Lisa Hendrickson at lhinnovate3@gmail.com.


  *denotes African American suffragist

  Bold denotes prominent suffragist

BEVERLY: Mrs. A. H. MacPherson

BORDENTOWN (Bordentown Equal Suffrage League): *Mrs. W. R. Valentine; Mrs. Harold B. Wells

CAMDEN (Camden Equal Suffrage League [1896], Camden Equal Franchise League): *Mrs. Mary Ashley; Mrs. F. A. Bailey; Mrs. D. H. Bentley; Mrs. F. G. C. Bleakley; Mrs. Vincent (Edith M.) Bodine; *Mrs. Elizabeth Bond; Mrs. Charles Buckwalter; *Mrs. Mrs. Martha Cole; *Mrs. Issac Cotton; Mrs. Craigan; Mrs. Mamie A. Crandall; Mrs. F. R. English; Mrs. Levi E. Farnham; Mrs. Charles Felton; Mrs. H. I. Felton; *Mrs. Annie Fisher; Mrs. Abraham Fuhrmann; Mrs. N. Fuhrmann; *Miss Antonette Ireland; *Mrs. K. J. Johnson; Mrs. F. Josephson; Mrs. William Keller; Mrs. Mary K. Kobus; Mrs. John E. (Elizabeth) Kuenzel; *Mrs. Alice Laws; Mrs. Ahab Haines (Miriam Early) Lippincott; Mrs. H. G. Longwell; Mrs. Alfred Lowry; Mrs. A. J. Marrison; Mrs. Mariana Matlack; Mrs. W. B. MacCallum; *Mrs. Bella Morris; *Mrs. A. Pennick; Miss Emma Sterling Potter; Miss Margaret Potter; Mrs. William Potter; Mrs. J. M. Pullem; *Mrs. Florence Roberts; *Mrs. Elizabeth Sheppard; *Miss Ardley Smith; *Mrs. Rose Taylor; Mrs. Lydia T. Warringon; Mrs. Theodore Warrington; *Mrs. Mamie Williams

CLAYTON: Mrs. Crawford Cohee

COLLINGSWOOD (Collingswood Equal Suffrage League): Mrs. Frank Bailey; Mrs. C. B. Baseler (Basler); Mrs. C. Waldo Batchelor; Mrs. Charles W. Foust; Mrs. E. B. Jillard; Mrs. Paul Rice

FLORENCE: Mrs. D. E. Maxfield

FRANKLINVILLE: Mrs. Marion Homes

GLASSBORO: Mrs. E. J. (Sarah Helen) Blaisdell

HADDONFIELD (Haddonfield Equal Suffrage League): *Mrs. William H. Boone; *Mrs. Marvel Dansbery; *Mrs. Pearlie (Julia) Hart; *Mrs. Jarmon (Martha) Holmes; Mrs. Robert A. (Bertha Shippen) Irving; Mrs. Henry (Mary) Moore; Mrs. William Garrett Moore

MERCHANTVILLE (Merchantville Equal Suffrage League, Merchantville Equal Franchise League): Mrs. Josephine C. Adams; Mrs. Elwood (Sarah) Antrim; Miss Louise Antrim; Mrs. Frank Bailey; Mrs. Frank H. Benrath; Jane E. Dwyer; Mrs. Robert D. (Juliet) Finley; Mrs. John G. Fryer; Miss Daisy Y. Furber; Mrs. Mary C. Furber; Miss Tille Hastings; Mrs. Mahlon F. Ivins, Jr.; Mrs. Joseph P. Manypenny; Mrs. Lillian H. McCarl; Louise Mundy; Mrs. Henry J. Sherman; Mrs. David Taylor; Mrs. Elizabeth Troth; Mrs. Arthur Truscott; Mrs. Irwine Ware; Mrs. John R. Witcraft

MOORESTOWN (Moorestown Equal Suffrage League): Mrs. Lester Collins; Miss Susan B. Eavenson; Miss Alice Henlings; Mrs. Laura Lloyd Heulings; Miss Esther Homes; Mrs. Ward D. (Sarah Jenney) Kerlin; Mrs. Leeds; Miss Susan W. Lippincott; Mrs. Lovet; Mrs. Rebecca H. Matiack; Mrs. John McMullen; Miss Jennie H. Morris; Miss Alice Paul; Miss Helen Paul; Miss Helen Pumyea; Mrs. Emmor Roberts; Mrs. Sarah R. Sullivan

MT. HOLLY: Mrs. A. L. S. Doughty

PALMYRA: Mrs. George Rothenberger

PENNSAUKEN: Mrs. J. Edward Patterson

RIVERSIDE: Miss Alma Steubes

RIVERTON (Riverton Equal Suffrage League): Mrs. Rachel Foster Avery; Miss Annette Campbell; Miss Amelia Coale; Miss Edith Coale; Mrs. E. S. Cole; Mrs. Catherine B. Lippincott; Miss Helen Lippincott; Miss Elizabeth Lippincott; Mrs. Mary W. Lippincott; Miss Beulah Parry; Miss Susanna Parry; Mrs. Mary L. Thomas; Mrs. E. R. H. VanValin; Miss Elizabeth Williams; Mrs. D. Henry Wright

WOODBURY (Woodbury Equal Suffrage League): Mrs. A. W. Betts; Mrs. Aldona Dickeson; Miss Lillian Durrell


Donate any amount, including for a specific project! Add information on the donation payment page.

Upcoming Events

The Historical Society’s buildings remain closed to visitors until further notice. We hope you’ll join us for an upcoming virtual program!

Monday 1/25/21: Virtual Book Club: “The Warmth of Other Suns,” 7 pm, via Zoom, RSVP to get link

Funding provided by the Camden County Cultural and Heritage Commission at Camden County College, the officially designated county history agency of the New Jersey Historical Commission.

The Historical Society of Haddonfield is supported by a grant from the New Jersey Council for the Humanities with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the federal CARES Act. Any views, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed on this web site do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities or the New Jersey Council for the Humanities.

Join Our Mailing List

Social Media:



Public hours are temporarily suspended through March 31, 2020


Public research hours are temporarily suspended through March 31, 2020

Click here for our inclement weather policy.

Greenfield Hall and the Archives Center are both CLOSED Saturdays & Sundays except as noted above for the first Sunday of the month.

We are closed in August, on major holidays, and for the week between Christmas and New Year’s.

Contact Us:

Historical Society of Haddonfield
343 Kings Hwy. E
Haddonfield, NJ 08033
General questions:
Research questions: